By continuing to browse on this website, you consent to the use of cookies for audience analytic and marketing communication purposes.
Please active the use of cookies to be able to use the full functionality of this website.
You are using an outdated browser with potential security vulnerabilities and can not use all features of this website.
Find out how easy it is to update your browser

July 13, 2018


Ruby Hotels set to open in Shanghai by the end of the year

A joint venture with renowned Chinese partners paves the way for an expansion into Asia

München & Shanghai, July 2018

The Ruby Group’s international expansion has taken a further step with the announcement of the first Ruby hotel in Asia, which is set to open at the end of the year in Shanghai, China’s booming mega metropolis.

The Munich-based hotel group has established a joint venture with prominent Chinese partner The Betterwood Group, allowing it to bring Ruby’s philosophy of Lean Luxury to the Asian continent for the first time.

The new 150-room hotel will be located in the Hongqiao neighborhood, near Shanghai’s city center airport, where numerous renowned five-star hotels such as Sofitel and Le Meridien have recently opened. The style of each Ruby hotel is individual, and is inspired by local influences. Accordingly, the interior design of the Hongqiao hotel celebrates the style of Shanghai in the 1920s, and its booming silent film scene. .. The project came to fruition as the result of the conversion and expansion of a former office building. Its opening is planned for the end of this year.

Michael Struck, founder and CEO of Ruby Hotels, said: “After announcing our first hotel development in London earlier this year, the establishment of Ruby Asia and the development of a hotel in Shanghai marks the next milestone for the international expansion of the Ruby brand.”

Joint Venture Ruby Asia
Ruby Asia is a joint venture between Ruby Hotels & Resorts GmbH, based in Munich, Germany, and the Betterwood Group, with its headquarters in Hong Kong. The Betterwood Group is primarily owned by Wisdom Sail (HK) Ltd. (Hong Kong), a USD 310 million investment holding company that is managed by Ocean Link (Shanghai). Some of China’s most distinguished hospitality companies and individuals in the hospitality industry are affiliated with Ocean Link, including Alex Zheng, the founder and chairman of Plateno Hotel, one of the biggest hotel groups in China. Other investors in this fund include Ctrip, the biggest OTA (Online Travel Agency) in Asia; General Atlantic, a global private equity investor that is behind companies such as Uber and AirBnB; and Temasek, the investment arm of the government of Singapore.

Alex Zheng “discovered” Ruby with the help of the German consultancy Hotour, which was commissioned with the task of finding promising European brands. In the summer of 2016, it was jointly decided to launch the Ruby brand in Asia with Alex Zheng and his partners. The goal is to establish Ruby as one of the first brands in Asia in the affordable luxury segment, as well as to appeal with individual hotels to the high-growth postmodern milieus, particularly the high-growth Chinese millennials. With the goal of establishing a close partnership in every way, the model of mutual equity shareholding was chosen: Ocean Link – specifically its investment holding company Wisdom Sail – with a 20% share of Ruby, and Ruby with a 20% share of the Asian license holder.

The joint venture will be led by an experienced six-person management team, including Huasheng Li, the president of the Betterwood Hotel Group Co., Ltd. and Angela Wong, CEO of Ruby Asia (see PDF DOWNLOAD below for further information).

Lean Luxury Philosophy
The new Ruby Hotel in Shanghai follows Ruby‘s Lean Luxury philosophy: Top location, high-quality room fittings, genuine design. All this at an affordable price by rigorously cutting out the superfluous and focusing on the essential.

Michael Struck, founder and CEO of Ruby Hotels, explains the group’s approach. “This works because we accommodate luxury in a relatively condensed space, similar to luxury yachts. We forego unnecessary services. Thanks to proprietary technical innovations, we plan, build and organize ourselves differently from conventional hotels. To be precise, we plan and build in a very modular way and centralize as well as automatize processes behind the scenes wherever possible. This helps us create a luxurious and unique hotel experience at an affordable price.”

The Munich-based Ruby group, led by founder and CEO Michael Struck, is breaking new ground with their Lean Luxury philosophy. By having a lean organizational structure and concentrating on the essential, Ruby can create a contemporary, affordable form of luxury for the modern, cost and style-conscious customers. Founded in 2013, the group operates five Ruby Hotels, with nine more under construction or in planning. Also, in central locations of major cities, Ruby now offers Ruby Works: flexible, perfectly equipped workspaces and a creative ambiance with access to an inspiring office community. Financially strong partners support Ruby’s expansion. The Austrian Soravia Group, a German family office, the investor Michael Hehn, a private equity fund, and Michael Struck jointly hold the company shares.

DOWNLOAD PDF Ruby Hotels will open in Shanghai

CONTACT
SORAVIA
Yana Boyer-Telmer
Head of Marketing and Communications
Phone: +43-(0)1-716-90-1425
E-Mail: y.boyer-telmer@soravia.at

Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu.
Sie müssen Cookies in ihrem Browser aktivieren um diese Website in vollem Umfang benutzen zu können.
Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit möglichen Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können nicht alle Funktionen dieser Webseite nutzen.
Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können

Juli 13, 2018


Ruby Hotels eröffnen Ende des Jahres in Shanghai

Joint Venture mit renommierten chinesischen Partnern betreibt die Asien-Expansion

München & Shanghai, Juli 2018

Die Ruby Gruppe treibt ihre Expansion weiter voran. Über die Gründung eines Joint Ventures mit renommierten chinesischen Partnern bringt die junge Hotelgruppe aus München ihre Lean Luxury Philosophie auch auf den asiatischen Kontinent. Ende des Jahres eröffnet das erste Hotel in Asien, in Chinas Mega-Metropole Shanghai.

Das neue Hotel mit 150 Zimmern befindet sich in der Nähe von Shanghais Innenstadt-Flughafen Hongqiao innerhalb einer aufstrebenden Nachbarschaft, in der sich in jüngster Zeit mehrere renommierte 5-Sterne Marken niedergelassen haben, beispielsweise Sofitel und Le Meridien. Das Interior-Design des Hotels feiert das Shanghai der 20 Jahre; wie bei allen Ruby Hotels nimmt auch hier die jeweils individuelle Gestaltung der Hotels Bezug auf den Standort. Das Projekt entsteht durch Konversion und Erweiterung eines ehemaligen Bürogebäudes, die Eröffnung ist für Ende diesen Jahres geplant.

Joint Venture Ruby Asia
Ruby Asia ist ein Joint Venture zwischen der Ruby Hotels & Resorts GmbH aus München und der Betterwood Group mit Sitz in Hong Kong. Die Betterwood Group ist zum größten Teil im Besitz der Wisdom Sail (HK) Ltd. (Hong Kong), ein 310 Millionen US-Dollar Fund, der von Ocean Link (Shanghai) gemanaged wird. Hinter Ocean Link stehen einige der profiliertesten Hospitality-Unternehmer des Landes, insbesondere Alex Zheng, dem Gründer und Chairman von Plateno Hotels, einer der größten Hotelgruppen in China. Weitere Investoren des Fonds sind Ctrip, der größte OTA (Online Travel Agency) Asiens; General Atlantic, ein gobaler Private Equity Investor, der u.a. hinter Uber und AirBnB steht; sowie Temasek, der Investment-Arm der singapurischen Regierung.

Alex Zheng ‚entdeckte‘ Ruby mit Hilfe der deutschen Unternehmensberatung Hotour, die mit der Suche nach zukunftsträchtigen europäischen Marken beauftragt waren. Im Sommer 2016 entstand die gemeinsame Idee, mit ihm und seinen Ocean-Link-Partnern und -Investoren die Marke Ruby in Asien zu lancieren. Ruby soll als eine der ersten Marken in Asien im Affordable Luxury Segment etabliert werden, sowie mit individuellen Hotels die postmodernen Zielgruppen-Milieus ansprechen, insbesondere im wachstumsstarken Segment der chinesischen Millennials. Im Interesse einer engen, in jeder Hinsicht und Richtung partnerschaftlichen Beziehung wurde dafür die Form einer wechselseitigen Beteiligung gewählt: Ocean Link – bzw. dessen Fonds Wisdom Sail – mit 20% an Ruby, Ruby mit einer 20%-Beteiligung an dem asiatischen Lizenzinhaber.

Das Joint Venture wird von einem erfahrenen sechsköpfigen Management Team geleitet, dem Huasheng Li, Präsident der Betterwood Hotel Group Co., Ltd. und Angela Wong, CEO von Ruby Asia vorstehen (Details siehe PDF DOWNLOAD).

Lean Luxury Philosophie
Auch das neue Ruby Hotel in Shanghai wird der Lean Luxury Philosophie von Ruby folgen: Eine Lage im Herzen der Stadt, top Design und eine hochwertige Ausstattung bei dem Wesentlichen. Und das bezahlbar, indem konsequent auf Überflüssiges und Unwesentliches verzichtet wird. „Das funktioniert, weil wir, nach dem Vorbild moderner Luxusyachten, unseren Luxus auf relativ kleiner Fläche unterbringen und Unwesentliches einfach weglassen. Wir organisieren uns außerdem mithilfe eigener technischer Lösungen ganz anders als in der Branche üblich. Wir planen und bauen modularer, zentralisieren stärker und automatisieren hinter den Kulissen konsequent. Das hilft uns, ein luxuriöses und einzigartiges Hotelerlebnis für unsere Gäste bezahlbar zu machen“ erklärt Michael Struck, Ruby-Gründer und CEO den Ansatz des Unternehmens.

Die Münchner Ruby Gruppe um Gründer und CEO Michael Struck geht mit ihrer Lean Luxury Philosophie neue Wege. Durch eine schlanke Organisation und Konzentration auf das Wesentliche schafft Ruby eine zeitgemäße, bezahlbare Form von Luxus für moderne, kosten- und stilbewusste Kunden. Die 2013 gegründete Gruppe betreibt fünf Ruby Hotels, neun weitere sind im Bau oder in Bauvorbereitung. Mit dem 2018 gegründeten Joint Venture Ruby Asia, expandiert Ruby darüber hinaus im asiatischen Raum. In München und Hamburg bietet Ruby seit Kurzem außerdem Ruby Works: Flexible, hochwertig ausgestattete Co-Working Spaces in stilvollem Ambiente, mit Anschluss an eine inspirierende Office-Gemeinschaft. Bei der Expansion stehen Ruby kapitalstarke Partner zur Seite. Die österreichische Soravia Gruppe, ein Private-Equity Fond, der Unternehmer Michael Hehn, ein deutsches Family Office, sowie Michael Struck halten gemeinsam die Firmenanteile.

DOWNLOAD PDF Ruby Hotels eröffnen Ende des Jahres in Shanghai

KONTAKT
SORAVIA
Yana Boyer-Telmer
Leitung Konzern Marketing und Kommunikation
Tel: +43-(0)1-716-90-1425
E-Mail: y.boyer-telmer@soravia.at