By continuing to browse on this website, you consent to the use of cookies for audience analytic and marketing communication purposes.
Please active the use of cookies to be able to use the full functionality of this website.
You are using an outdated browser with potential security vulnerabilities and can not use all features of this website.
Find out how easy it is to update your browser

History


The SORAVIAS – a PASSION for building

Johann Soravia (1841–1912) left Northern Italy more than 150 years ago and became a mooring officer in the Drau Valley, Carinthia. It was here that he recognised the urgent need for infrastructure initiatives and so in 1885 he founded a construction company focusing on road construction and civil engineering. The Soravia family has worked in construction and real estate ever since.

“Soravia Bau” profited from the post-war economic miracle. In 1976 it merged with ILBAU – and Soravia disappeared as a company name. Then ILBAU merged with the German Strabag. Following the withdrawal of Johann’s great-grandson Erwin Soravia sen. from the operating business – he was Chairman of the Managing Board until the 1990s – the holding was sold for strategic reasons.

The entrepreneurial family tradition had a major impact on his sons, Hanno and Erwin Soravia. In 1989 they started their own career path – in the fields of real estate project development and equity holdings – and founded SORAVIA.

Wenn Sie auf der Seite weitersurfen stimmen Sie der Cookie-Nutzung zu.
Sie müssen Cookies in ihrem Browser aktivieren um diese Website in vollem Umfang benutzen zu können.
Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit möglichen Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können nicht alle Funktionen dieser Webseite nutzen.
Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können

Geschichte


Die SORAVIAS – Bauen als PASSION

Vor über 150 Jahren verließ Johann Soravia (1841-1912) Oberitalien und wurde „Flussmeister“ im Kärntner Drautal. Als solcher erkannte er die Dringlichkeit von infrastrukturellen Maßnahmen und gründete 1885 ein Bauunternehmen mit Fokus Straßen- und Tiefbau. Seit damals ist die Familie Soravia im Bau- bzw. Immobiliengeschäft tätig.

Vom nachkriegszeitlichen Wirtschaftswunder profitierte auch die „Soravia Bau“. 1976 fusionierte sie mit ILBAU – der Firmenname Soravia verschwand. Schließlich übernahm ILBAU die deutsche Strabag. Nach dem Rückzug von Johanns Urenkel Baurat H.c. Erwin Soravia sen. aus dem operativen Geschäft – er war in den 1990ern noch Vorstandsvorsitzender – wurde die Beteiligung aus strategischen Gründen verkauft.

Die unternehmerische Familientradition hatte seine Söhne, Hanno und Erwin Soravia, stark geprägt. 1989 schlugen sie eine selbstständige Laufbahn ein – im Geschäftsbereich Immobilien-Projektentwicklung und Unternehmensbeteiligungen – und gründeten die Soravia Group.